Chinese New Year Parade Dragon, San Francisco

You are here

August 22, 2014

Year In Review: 2012 in Pictures

January 1st, 2012 feels like it was just yesterday. As we get older and years seem to zoom by, it is important to take a moment and reflect. 2012 was a great year for San Francisco. Many recurring events returned and didn't miss a beat from 2011. There were even one-of-a-kind, you-had-to-be-there San Francisco moments. Here is the year in review the only way we know how.

February 11, 2012: Chinese New Year Parade

Every year in February our streets get taken over by streams of bright, colorful paper dragons and people dressed in traditional and no-so-traditional Chinese outerwear. Held every year since 1958, this parade is the oldest and largest celebration outside of Asia. Mark your calendars for February 23, 2013 when the dragons take over the streets again from Chinatown to Market.

May 20, 2012: Bay to Breakers

This is our Super Bowl. Every year people come out in droves dressed to the nines in their favorite costume, whether they are running in the annual 12K race or just merely watching it. San Franciscans love any excuse to dress up, so the more creative, the better. Next year's race is May 19, 2013. Start planning your costumes now.

May 27, 2012 - 75th Anniversary of the Golden Gate Bridge

We threw one of the biggest parties of the year for the brigde beloved by millions. It was an all day affair, but the fireworks display to cap off the celebration really took our breath away. In 2013, we'll be celebrating our other bridge, the Bay Bridge, when the new span is completed and the new bay lights are installed.

June 24, 2012: 75th Season of the Stern Grove Festival

The Golden Gate Bridge wasn't the only one to ring in its 75th anniversary this year. Joining in with its own celebration was the Stern Grove Festival, our yearly admission-free summer concert series. It was a memorable season that started off with Anita Baker and the Family Stone and ended with OK Go. Save the date for opening day on June 19, 2013.

August 10-12, 2012: Outside Lands Music Festival

In San Francisco, celebrating a 5-year anniversary is just as much fun and important as celebrating a 75th anniversary. Over a weekend in August, we did just that at the 5th annual Outside Lands Music Festival. Heralding in the weekend was Neil Young in Crazy Horse. The next night, the energy was elevated to another level by Metallica, whose roots go way back in San Francisco. Closing out the festival and bringing down the house was the untouchable Stevie Wonder. The festival hopes to hit another gear for it's sixth year August 9 - 11, 2013.

August 21 - 26, October 4 - 7, 2012: America's Cup World Series

The fastest boats to ever grace the bay came sailing in to energize the city around one of the oldest competitions in the world. This was the first time that city saw America's Cup and it won't be the last time as the boats will return July 4 - August 30 for the Louis Vuitton Cup and September 7 - 21, 2013 for the America's Cup.

September 21, 2012: Endeavour Space Shuttle Flyover

On a sunny September day, everyone in San Francisco looked out their windows to get a glimpse of the final voyage of the Space Shuttle Endeavour. Zig-zagging its way through the sky, the final parting shot we saw was the flyover the Golden Gate Bridge. It was unforgetable.

October 4 - 8, 2012: Fleet Week

We have a thing for flyovers, I'll admit it. We can't get enough of them. Coinciding with Columbus Day weekend, we salute all those serving in the Navy, Marines and the Coast Guard by hosting their ships and watching the Blue Angels fly over the city. This is one of the busiest weekends of the year, not only because of its significance, but it also marks the culmination of our Indian Summer. Next year, you better be here October 11 - 14, 2013.

October 28 and 31, 2012: Giants Win the World Series and Celebrate

Really, how could we not end on this note. It was great to be a sports fan from the Bay Area this year. The 49ers returned to glory under Jim Harbaugh as they made it to the playoffs, falling just short of the Super Bowl. Even the Oakland A's got into the swing of things, surprising everybody to win their division, making everyone smile. But really, the year belonged to the Giants. They played the best ball all year-round from Matt Cain throwing the first perfect game in team history, to the resurgence of Barry Zito and the reutrn to dominance of Buster Posey, who not only won the NL Comeback player of the year, but also the NL MVP. Ultimately, the rewarded us with a second World Series title in three years. We can't thank them enough and we can't wait for them to defend their title come April 5th.

Sponsor Ad

You may also like